Come and pick flowers, blueberries, peaches, and apples in season or buy fresh-picked fruit or flowers, as well as a variety of locally made products like maple syrup, honey, unique gifts, and much more at our farm stand.
Our beautifully renovated 19th century barn is available for weddings and special events. Learn more.
In addition to our orchards and flower gardens, we are stewards of 140 acres of meadows, forest, a spring-fed pond, and a sparkling brook. Dozens of nesting birds and a wide range of other animals live on or frequent our farm, including bears, bobcats, otters, foxes, and beavers. Our wetlands support a variety of turtles, salamanders, fish and seven varieties of frogs and toads.
Quonquont (or Quan Quan) was a 17th-century Native American leader who lived along the Connecticut River. His name appears on the 1672 deed to lands in North Hatfield and Whately.
The first building on the farm property was a wayside tavern built in 1759. In the early 1800s, our brook was dammed to power a tannery. By 1860, our farm was raising dairy and beef cattle, as well as tobacco.
In 1920, the property became the Quonquont Stock and Dairy Farm, a nationally known breeder of Holstein-Friesian cattle. The giant Quonquont milk bottle (now located on the Whately town common) was originally part of a restaurant on Routes 5&10 that offered milk, cream, and other dairy treats. In summer, ice cream was served from the giant bottle—a tradition that continues today during Whately festivals.
In the early 1970s, Howard Hoxie planted today’s apple, peach, and blueberry orchards. The farm’s current owners bought the 140-acre property in 2000, continuing Mr. Hoxie’s tradition of growing wholesome fruit for local families. In 2011, we completed renovations to our 19th century stock barn and opened the lovely and historic property for special events.